How about performing a random act of kindness, just because?

Smile!When was the last time you performed a random act of kindness? And I mean an absolutely very-random act of kindness? Random meaning, something totally out the norm? Something that you typically wouldn’t do? Or something that’s never really crossed your mind before because honestly, who does random acts of kindness that’s beyond the norm anyways? I mean, maybe the thought crossed your mind? Like an unexpected surprise towards someone you know or, perhaps someone you don’t know very well but you feel would be touched by your very-random act? In other words, when was the last time you decided to step outside your box and do something totally random knowing that it would just be nice to touch someone’s heart in an unexpected way just because you felt this person needed it or deserved it (got all that ;-))? And not because you expect anything in return, but because you just wanted to put a smile on someone’s face? Or imprint a memory in their heart?

We all have ways of sharing kindness. In its simplest forms, it can typically be through listening to a friend describe their day at work, listening to a family member describe their day at home or better yet, volunteering our time to help others. Or maybe it’s with a smile when we see someone at work, or by asking a person how they’re doing today. There are many simple acts which will impact a person positively whether we believe so or not. And yes, these simple acts makes a difference. Maybe we’ve decided to step it up a little because we’re comfortable with that, for example, by donating to a random cause because we know it would help someone, even though we may not truly know the person it’s going to but we know we are making a difference in someone’s life. Without any expectations, without any need for return. Just because.  That’s the beauty of randomness.  Random acts of kindness that is.

Every day we share kindness. By smiling, by conversing with someone or connecting with them, by sharing positive words and reminding them that we care about them. Whether it’s through words or simple acts of kindness, no matter who we cross paths with, a family member, a friend, a coworker or someone on the street. We spread kindness. And we spread kindness just by Being.

I use the power God has granted me to make every day worthwhile not only to myself, but to someone else. I choose to be kind to those I see at work and I am kind to those I may pass by in a grocery store, by giving a smile or connecting with them momentarily. We can emit an energy of kindness and love if we choose to. And if someone does so for us, chances are, we’ll be more inclined to do the same in return. I even pray for some of those who drives by me with enormous speed on the highway, or who cuts me off when I’m apparently driving too slow (lol). I pray that they are safe and that they are blessed. By choosing not to judge them and reminding myself that they are one with God, just like me, I choose to perform these simple acts of kindness because we need more of this in our world. If we want a world filled with kindness and love, we have to be willing to spread kindness and love. We live in a busy world working hard each and every day trying to make a living. We live in a world where some of us are struggling more than others, or doing so much more for others and not enough for ourselves.  We need to be kind to one another because God is kind to us. And we’re all in the same boat whether we choose to accept that or not.  Treat others the way you would like to be treated.  We all know that rule.

A thought entered my mind a couple of weeks ago as I listened intently to a woman who described her extremely stressful personal life. And she doesn’t do it because she is trying to complain. She is merely just sharing, as though it is matter-of-factly, in need of validation, love, a column of support. It’s just the way of her life. A mother of a son who is struggling psychologically due to a health issue. A mother of a teenage daughter who’s challenging her. A mother who has physical and health issues because she is surrounded with daily stressful events in her life, yet manages to smile every single day. She somehow manages to make the time to organize and put into action a fundraiser for children at a nearby hospital. My heart goes out to this woman every time I listen to her share the challenges she experiences in her life, how much she does on a daily basis and the struggles she endures with her son. Every time I listen, I am reminded of how huge her heart is. Like a pot that’s never empty.  Pouring with love for others.  I decided then that I wanted to make this woman feel deeply appreciated. Hence the idea and birth of my very-random act of kindness. I decided I was going to surprise her without letting her know who initiated the surprise because after all, that’s beyond the point anyways right (I mean, who cares who initiated it ;-))?

This woman spoke of the little elf quite often. She uses the little elf to try and encourage others to donate towards this good cause, for the children at the hospital. It was time the little elf returned the favor and let her know how much he (or she) appreciates her act of kindness, for making the time to coordinate this fundraiser year after year despite her own challenging and time-consuming life.

I love it when God drops the perfect opportunities into our laps at the right time. And I mean, right when an idea is born! A flower delivery was my initial thought. What could be more beautiful than the fragrant scent of flowers? God’s creation of nature. But God had a different idea. He thought happy face cookies was the way to go. Happy faces would represent the happy little faces of the boys and girls at the hospital. Lucky for me, a Groupon surfaced from a website which sold happy face cookies in an attractive tin container with a bow. What an awesome way to remind this person that the smiles she was creating for these children were going to be delivered with a sweet thank you note to her. And from the little elf who’s been encouraging others to donate for the children.

Not stopping there, there’s been another woman on my mind. A cleaning lady whom I was introduced to by a friend. She cleaned my home not only to the best of her ability, but with care and love and I felt myself connect with this woman. Her energy was sincere and sweet. This woman who was trying to make a living and earn some extra cash. Cleaning was not something she did for everyone, but only for friends or through referrals. I payed her with an extra tip and then the thought crossed my mind. Since I had her address because I had to mail her a check, there would be a day where I too would send her a little surprise with blessings from God. I decided to mail her a happy gram with a special note to surprise her one random day. I just wanted her to smile and remember God’s love for her. After all, that’s all that matters.  For sometimes it is up to us to deliver that message for God, if and when our hearts are inclined to do so.

My heart pours with joy as I think of the smiles we have the ability to create in this world. These women pour so much love and compassion into their acts of kindness. This is why God created us. God showers us with love unconditionally and He has provided us with enormous abilities and courage to help, to heal and to make a difference in our world. He blesses us tremendously by surrounding us with so many wonderful, kind and special people. We can experience so much love and joy when we reach out to others and share random acts of kindness. Because we are all connected, because we are all one.

So who do you see going through a tough time lately? Who do you know over extends themselves and puts others first before their own needs? Maybe it’s your parents or your siblings. Or your college professor. Have you met someone that needs a little boost or a reminder that they are loved and appreciated? Why not go ahead and perform a random act of kindness for them? Leave a special note in their mailbox (you don’t have to leave your name, just go ahead and surprise them).  Or thank them in person. Or send them a card! Or tell them in person! And if you really want to get creative, I’m sure you’ll find a way. There are no limits, no boundaries, to the random acts of kindness we have the power to create and perform. Make someone smile and leave their hearts imprinted with the memory.  Do it just because, you can!  🙂

About Sunita Sukhraj

I'm a single mom, hair model, mentor, and software quality engineer (surprise!) who has a thirst for arts, writing, Latin dancing, healthy organic vegetarian cooking (especially raw foods and desserts), spirituality, socializing and just enjoying life! I believe in the mind-body-soul connection; fill your mind with positivity, feed your body healthy whole foods, and fulfill your soul's purpose with truth and love. These will create balance in your life which in turn will help to foster humanity. Live life passionately, laugh often and love unconditionally but more importantly, live in unity with love!
This entry was posted in Articles, Love & Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment