Quick and Easy Miso Soup

Miso SoupI’ve been hooked on this super-duper-easy-to-make miso soup this past week.  It seemed like I just couldn’t get enough of it! Three days of delicious goodness!  😛  I recognized the flavor of this soup from oriental restaurants I’ve dined at in the past, but it’s been years since I’ve enjoyed an oriental flavored soup like this!

Here’s a quick and easy recipe I came across from the Clean book by Dr. Alejandro Junger.  I’m sure you’ll enjoy this one!

Soup n’ Go

  • 2 cups hot water (not boiling)
  • 1 tbsp chickpea miso (if you’re not on the Clean cleanse, feel free to use any other kind of miso.  I used brown rice miso)
  • 1/2 shredded carrot
  • 5 leaves finely shredded kale (I used more than 5 leaves btw, I love kale!)
  • 3 to 4 fresh mushrooms, thinly sliced
  • 1/4-inch piece of grated ginger
  • Sunflower sprouts
  • Pinch of cayenne (I used about 3 pinches.  Use more if you like it spicier!)
  • Drizzle of toasted sesame oil (olive oil will work too)
  • Pinch of coriander powder (again, I used about 3 pinches)
  1. Add chickpea miso to hot water and stir until mixed well.
  2. Add vegetables and spices.  Drizzle oil.
  3. Dig in and enjoy!

You can also throw these items into a blender and then take this soup with you “to go”!

Source:  Clean, by Dr. Alejandro Junger, M.D.

About Sunita Sukhraj

I'm a software quality engineer, mother, model, mentor and philanthropist who has a thirst for arts, writing, Latin dancing, healthy organic vegetarian cooking (especially raw foods and desserts), spirituality, socializing and just enjoying life! I believe in the mind-body-soul connection; fill your mind with positive thoughts, feed your body healthy natural foods, and fulfill your soul's purpose with truth and love. These will help create balance in your life which in turn, will help foster humanity. Live life passionately, laugh often and love unconditionally but more importantly, live in unity with love!
This entry was posted in Clean Program, Gluten-Free, Recipes, Soups, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Quick and Easy Miso Soup

  1. hanbal.kr says:

    Usually I don’t read article on blogs, however
    I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do so!
    Your writing style has been surprised me.
    Thank you, very great post.

  2. Thank you for your comment, I really appreciate it! 🙂

  3. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles.

    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.
    I’m quite sure I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

    • That’s great, and thank you for your valuable feedback! Feel free to click on “Follow” on the bottom right-hand corner of your screen where you can have posts delivered to your e-mail. I’ll be trying to post 1 to 2 articles a week which will include one recipe. 🙂

  4. This soup is another one I will be trying too.. I have only recently discovered Brown Rice Miso and love it, and add to stir fries and soups this recipe I know I will enjoy. xx

    Have a fabulous weekend.. Love and Hugs Sue x

Leave a Reply

