Do you live a realistic life? Or an imaginary life?

Cinderella1Cinderella goes to the ball thanks to her fairy godmother. Her pumpkin turns into a carriage, magically. Prince Charming instantly falls in love with her the moment he sets eyes on her (swoon). The clock strikes midnight. Everything disappears. Cinderella’s fairy tale is over. She is back to reality.

I’ve been told by some that I live in an imaginary world, and that I need to be more realistic when it comes to life in general. But I hold true and strong to my beautifully created imaginary world because my reality is indeed a manifestation of my imaginary world. What do I mean by that?

What I mean is, I believe in fairy tales. Yes, you read that correctly. I totally believe in fairy tales.

truth-and-reality-hiReality in our world today is just sad and painful in my eyes. But imagination however, imagination can be so beautiful and so wonderful depending on what it is that you choose to see. And what you imagine can help alleviate the reality of the realistic world we live in because in all due respect, the realistic world we live in is just plain ol’… sad!

I know, I’m sounding all negative and all. But… that’s reality, isn’t it? Reality is, people think or talk negatively about many things in life because we’re surrounded by so much negativity. Let’s talk about this for a few minutes here. What is reality? Well, reality can be different for different people depending on how they perceive the world or their life to be. But in general, it means living and experiencing life the way we all know it to be. Life“as it is”. You know, the whole hustle and bustle and rushing of every day life. Work, work, work until your health takes a toll on you (that’s reality). We never seem to have enough in life (that’s reality). Sacrifice sleep to get more done in a full day (that’s reality). Go through each day in motion versus being fully present (what does that mean? If you really want to know, read A New Earth by Eckhart Tolle. In the meantime, yes, that’s reality). Turn on the TV to watch the news or watch “reality” TV (now that’s really reality).

Reality is, the honeymoon phase of a relationship doesn’t last forever. Reality is, we live in a competitive world. Reality is, there seems to be little hope for our country or for the planet in general. Reality is, there is starving children and so much suffering in the world. hambrunaReality is, there is innocent people who don’t deserve to be hurt. Reality is, it seems impossible to eradicate hunger throughout the world. Reality is, people will make you upset, angry, maybe even annoyed. Reality is, the world is a problem. The government is a problem. Society is a problem. Anywhere and everywhere, there always seems to be a problem.

Gulf Oil Spill Spreads, Damaging Economies, Nature, And Way Of LifeReality is (no I’m not finished yet), animals are losing their homes (so sad by the way). The ocean has been polluted big time (major sadness, look at all the sea animals that died during that massive oil spill years ago). There is stress in life, diseases, gains (yay, the stock market is up), and losses (the stock market crashed again, bummer).

Reality is, the excitement in relationships doesn’t last forever. Reality is, what’s the point of being positive all the time when life throws you curve balls and you end up with no choice but to feel worried, stressed, etc. and all. Reality is, look around you and what’s the “norm” in society these days.  Reality is, people are losing hope.

bollywood_dance4aThere once was a post I came across on Facebook.  Someone wrote, “Why can’t my marriage be like an Indian movie where we’re dancing happily in love singing our hearts away? ” One person responded, “Girl, that’s cheesy!” Another person responded, “Don’t you watch reality TV? Relationships aren’t anything like that!”

And my response was, disbelief (remember, I believe in fairy tales now). I commented, “Wow, why the negativity? Your reality can be whatever you choose for it to be. If you want to dance happily, let’s say in an open field with flowers, you can do it! Just create it! Make it happen!”

I know what you’re thinking. Why would I say that? That’s a little silly, maybe even going too far. Plus, if you’ve seen Indians movies, you’ll know the love stories are dramatic and doesn’t seem realistic sometimes (who dances around in fields full of flowers because they’re in love?). Well, let me say this. In my imaginary world, it can happen. You can dance in a field full of flowers if you want to (now people may look at you strangely but who cares!). In my imaginary world, you can do anything! In my imaginary world, there is hope! And if there is hope, you can create it, you can make it happen!

What I’m saying is, if you want to go dance in a field with flowers singing at the top of your lungs with your husband, your boyfriend, your significant other, just like in the Indian movies, go find that field of flowers and go dance! It doesn’t matter if it sounds silly or isn’t reality.  You have the power to create and embellish your own reality!

In fact, the reality of the world today doesn’t have to affect you in a way that leaves you feeling hopeless or helpless for that matter. Reality doesn’t have to pull you in.  You can pull reality into your imagination.  Reality for some people may involve many limitations. But it doesn’t have to be that way for you.  If you just believe, you’d be surprise at what you can actually create!

In my imaginary world, I am totally aware of what’s going on in our country, around the globe. I see the pain, I read about it and I know there is suffering. And yes it makes me feel sad, that’s why I don’t watch the news. I am aware, but I take steps with action in order to help alleviate some of this such as coordinating a yearly charity event through A Slice of Hope to help feed the hungry. I’ve shared with some individuals, “I want to change the world!” and I’ve received responses such as, “No one can change the world, that’s reality!” Well, maybe in your world.  But not in mine.

1382096_309537765853128_247206694_nReality to me is, people have lost hope. Reality to me is, our world needs hope. Imagination to me is, there is hopeImagination to me is, I want to give others hope! Imagination to me is, nothing is impossible! Because anything and everything is possible!

In my imaginary world, I create my own reality versus just “live” according to what my eyes “see” on a daily basis. Because the eyes limit us, it can certainly limit us to what we are capable of seeing and giving.

In my imaginary world, we can indeed change the world by being the change we wish to see in the world (thank you for that awesome quote Gandhi and for being that example).

In my imaginary world, I believe it takes just one person to take a step, no matter how small or how impossible it may seem. In my imaginary world, ours souls are eternal. Our souls interconnect with other souls into an infinite powerful universe which tells me, there’s much more to life than our mere eyes can ever see. Just close your eyes and you’ll see, how much more you can truly see! 😉

So despite the butterflies disappearing after a few weeks into a romantic relationship or marriage. And love bringing pain and heartaches from time to time. And conflicts happening in the world or every day around us. I know some changes may not seem possible let alone doable. But does that really need to stop us? Should it stop us? From dreaming? From believing? From trying to even make an effort to change and help make a difference in our world? We don’t cease to love because heart ache comes with love. And we know life isn’t perfect. Because that’s reality. But it doesn’t mean we cannot accept reality as it is and create something wonderful, beautiful, out of the ordinary or fairy-tale-like in the process. Dip that reality into some imagination and pull it out. You have the power to create that beautiful place!

In my imaginary world, I see a happy place despite the pain, conflicts, struggles, starvation, and global warming. In my imaginary world, I see people who need a pick-me-up and cheer-me-up every now and then because there’s so much on their minds or they’re overwhelmed with daily tasks. In my imaginary world, I care about people.  I care about the world and what will become of it. I care because we forget that these little things really matters in life.

1653In reality, we seem to forget that everything IS a miracle! Look a little deeper. Look a little closer. Life is a miracle! Our souls are a miracle! Plants and trees growing from a tiny little seed into something larger than ourselves is a miracle. The sky is a miracle! Airplanes that fly into the air carrying hundreds of passengers from one destination to another, a man-made creation, that’s a miracle! Love is a miracle! You can’t see it with your eyes (unless it’s love in action) but you can certainly feel it in your heart. And when you feel it, it’s such an amazing feeling! What an amazing miracle!  The creation of an energy so powerful and so potent.  Yet so divine and so beautiful!

In my imaginary world, I see God everywhere. Not as a physical Being. But as an energy force, omnipresent. And in every creation. The gorgeous blue sky with the soft fluffy white clouds that feeds into my energy, that’s my imaginary world. The trees standing tall and firm withholding the heavy rain and winds serving as a reminder to me of courage and strength, that’s my imaginary world. Flowers so beautiful, delicate, giving off such lovely fragrance perfect in its own little way, that my imaginary world.

In my imaginary world, love exists within every single being. Yes, that’s what I said. Every single person. Even the ones who causes pain. And because God created every single being, it means we hold more potential within us than we could ever imagine. That’s my imaginary world.

Soulmate love? Yes, it exists (read Only Love is Real by Dr. Brian Weiss). Keeping the honeymoon phase going throughout years of marriage, sure it can happen! You have the ability to manifest your beautifully created imaginary world in whatever you choose or desire.

Cinderella2Don’t let reality fool you.  Imagination is everything! Believe! Hope! Love! Dream! Whatever imaginary world you live in, keep holding on to it, keep it alive! You have the power right there within you.

By the way, didn’t Cinderella’s fairy tale end quite beautifully? That’s right, it sure did! 😉

(And if you think it needs to be a little more realistic, watch Cinderella III A Twist in Time. Then, tell me what you think!)

Photo Sources/Credits:

http://en.mercopress.com/2012/10/10/one-in-eight-people-worldwide-suffer-from-chronic-hunger-says-fao

http://animal.discovery.com/wild-animals/animals-covered-in-oil-pictures.htm

http://www.chinese-word.com/clip-art/list-E.html

About Sunita Sukhraj

I'm a software quality engineer, mother, model, mentor and philanthropist who has a thirst for arts, writing, Latin dancing, healthy organic vegetarian cooking (especially raw foods and desserts), spirituality, socializing and just enjoying life! I believe in the mind-body-soul connection; fill your mind with positive thoughts, feed your body healthy natural foods, and fulfill your soul's purpose with truth and love. These will help create balance in your life which in turn, will help foster humanity. Live life passionately, laugh often and love unconditionally but more importantly, live in unity with love!
This entry was posted in Articles, Inspirational, Love & Relationships, Self-Improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Do you live a realistic life? Or an imaginary life?

  1. Absolutely stunning.
    At first sight I thought it is too long and will be boring, but I found it worth reading at the end.
    Very Very nicely written, meaningful and above all “Constructive”.
    Thanks.

    • I have a tendency to write novels instead of reasonable length posts. 😉 But I appreciate you taking the time to read it and I’m glad you found it worthwhile! Thank you! Blessings to you!

  2. Discovered this by chance….great article….life changing , inspiring ideas….congratulations and thanks

  3. I agree, whenever someone says “realistic” vs “imaginary” they often mean “depressing” vs “uplifting.” I always hated it when people said to be realistic about my career.

  4. Pingback: 10 Great Lessons I Learned Last Year | A Sincere Soul's Life Experiences

Leave a Reply

