Grateful for Gluten-Free Buckwheat Pancakes!

6About two months ago during my visit to Los Angeles in California, I had the privilege of dining at one of the most fantastic restaurants in the area.

This particular restaurant I just couldn’t get enough of (and I wonder why)…

Cafe Gratitude is “the best” in my opinion, offering everything 100% organic, vegan and made-from-scratch.

Cafe Gratitude LA

Cafe Gratitude LA

With an abundance of delicious gourmet menu options including meals, drinks and nonetheless desserts, I found myself in what I certainly call (with extreme confidence if I must say) an absolute food heaven!

We’re talking pancakes, muffins, bagels, scones, soups, salads, sandwiches, wraps, quesadillas, lasagna, burgers, pastas, raw dishes including raw pizza, even an Indian curry bowl!

These are just a few items I’m listing by the way (I urge you to check out their full menu!).

AND there were certainly many options available for drinks such as herbal teas, smoothies, juices, elixirs, even wines. And of course they had Kombucha!  😉

Desserts at Cafe Gratitude

Desserts at Cafe Gratitude

But it didn’t end there.

The desserts… oh you have NO IDEA what their desserts are all about unless you’ve been there yourself in person staring through that glass case filled with what seems like unlimited options of raw cakes and pies, baked yummies of goodness, cookies, quinoa bars dipped in chocolate, truffles made with cacao… yes, yes and yes!

Every day there was something different in that glass case. And yes, there is such a thing as healthy desserts and this restaurant was one amongst many that certainly had them all!

Chocolate Coconut Cream Pie and Tiramisu

Chocolate Coconut Cream Pie and Tiramisu

There are many restaurants throughout LA, Hollywood and the Long Beach areas (places I had the privilege of visiting) that contains pure vegan options with everything organic and made-from-scratch, no preservatives or artificial anything. When it comes to the way foods are prepared, they really seem to be ahead of the game.

To add to that, I dined at several restaurants and the prices for meals were reasonable, even at my favorite Cafe Gratitude (one more reason I kept going back for more).

Not only was I hooked on Cafe Gratitude because of the positive vibe and lovely words of encouragement posted everywhere such as on their bottles of water, menu items (the names of their menu items are positive words such as Inspired, Abundant and Peace), walls throughout the restaurant and even in their restrooms…

… I couldn’t stop dining at this place because I really wanted to try as many dishes as I possibly could. Such clean and fresh dishes with lots of fruits and veggies, I made sure to dine there every single day .  Lucky for me, I learned they had two additional restaurant locations throughout the areas which made it that much easier to visit.  😉

Trusting Tempeh Scramble and Open-Hearted Gluten-Free Pancakes

Trusting Tempeh Scramble and
Open-Hearted Gluten-Free Pancakes

But I digress.

The reason I am sharing my gratitude for Cafe Gratitude is because the first day I dined there, I decided to try their Open-Hearted menu item which is the gluten-free pancakes made with buckwheat and flax seeds.

Totally new to me, I’ve never heard of such pancakes before.

They even offered toppings of fruits and whipped coconut cream.

Give me both please!

Did I mention this place was a food heaven (just in case I didn’t, I thought I’d mention it again).  🙂

Now for those of you who have tried buckwheat before, you would know that it can be an accustomed taste as can anything else that is new to the palate.  For those of you who have never tried buckwheat, I say give it a try!  It’s pretty good stuff!  😛

I love and I mean I really love pancakes, but I’ve had to somewhat give them up due to a gluten food intolerance.

The Open-Hearted Gluten-Free Pancakes were so fantastic that I started anticipating what I was going to do when I returned back to Orlando.

Sunita Sukhraj

Bonita Breakfast Taco Plate and Rooibos Tea

I mean, I wish I could’ve taken this restaurant back with me.  I would be grateful if they delivered from California to Florida (hint hint), lol!  😉

However, I am extremely grateful that I had the opportunity to experience such a wonderful place to dine and I’m even more grateful that Cafe Gratitude has introduced me to gluten-free vegan pancakes which tasted remarkable and has given me hope for reintroducing pancakes back into my diet.

So the time has obviously come for me to start searching for gluten-free vegan pancake recipes made with buckwheat and flax seeds.

After going through several on the Internet, I found something that peaked my interests due to the clean ingredients.

After making these today, I must admit that I really enjoyed them!  Six pancakes later, I decided it’s worth sharing the recipe with everyone! 😀

Below is a fantastic recipe I came across from YumUniverse.  It is very easy to make. Just put all of the ingredients into a blender and blend.  Be sure to try this one and let me know what you think!  😛

4

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup organic buckwheat flour (I used sprouted organic buckwheat flour)
  • 1 tbsp ground flax seeds
  • 1/4 tsp aluminum-free baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp aluminum-free baking powder
  • 6 pitted dates (or 3 Medjool dates pitted)
  • 1 1/2 cups pure water
  • 1/4 cup raw organic cashews
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • Pinch of fine ground sea salt
  • Pinch of cinnamon
  • Coconut oil for pan

Directions:

  1. Blend all of the ingredients in a high-speed blender.
  2. Heat up a frying pan on medium-high heat and brush with some coconut oil making sure the entire pan is covered in coconut oil.
  3. Pour batter into the frying pan.  I chose to do four small pancakes at a time but you can make larger pancakes if you’d like.

1

4. When air bubbles start to form and the edges of the pancakes are dry, flip the pancakes over.

2

5. When the pancakes are finished, remove from the heat.

6. Serve with fruits, maple syrup, agave nectar, coconut nectar, whipped coconut cream, etc.

5

If you are on the Clean Program cleanse, guess what? This is totally cleanse-friendly!  You can choose to enjoy these as is, or top with a drizzle of coconut nectar and/or fruits!

ANDDDDDD for those of you who will be making a trip to the Los Angeles area in California, don’t forget to check out Cafe Gratitude, my number one spot! I promise, you will enjoy fulfilling healthy food that your body and soul will absolutely love!  Oh YES, and your mind, for you will leave there with lots of positive encouraging thoughts!  😉

Source:

This recipe is a slightly modified version of the following: http://yumuniverse.com/gluten-free-dairy-free-buckwheat-blender-pancakes/

About Sunita Sukhraj

I'm a software quality engineer, mother, model, mentor and philanthropist who has a thirst for arts, writing, Latin dancing, healthy organic vegetarian cooking (especially raw foods and desserts), spirituality, socializing and just enjoying life! I believe in the mind-body-soul connection; fill your mind with positive thoughts, feed your body healthy natural foods, and fulfill your soul's purpose with truth and love. These will help create balance in your life which in turn, will help foster humanity. Live life passionately, laugh often and love unconditionally but more importantly, live in unity with love!
This entry was posted in Articles, Breakfast, Clean Program, Gluten-Free, Recipes, Travel, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grateful for Gluten-Free Buckwheat Pancakes!

  1. Yummy… now these look very tasty

Leave a Reply

