Creating HOPE for the Homeless with Pizza Parties!

Does this sign look familiar to you?

Every time I’m on the road driving to my destination, I see at least one homeless person holding one of these signs.

It makes me feel sad to know that there are human beings in our world who are hungry and with no place to live.

It makes me feel even more sad to know that our government is not doing enough.

Estimates of Homeless People by State, 2016

Did you know that on a single night in January 2016, 549,928 people were experiencing homelessness in the United States — meaning they were sleeping outside, in an emergency shelter or in a transitional housing facility [2016 Annual Homeless Assessment Report]?

Last year, in 2016, we had 33,502 homeless individuals in the state of Florida alone. 2,888 were veterans. 1,228 were in Orange County and 210 people were in Seminole County [Counsel on Homelessness 2016 Annual Report].

Ten years ago, a good friend of mine decided he wanted to throw a pizza party with live music at a homeless shelter in New York City.

He reached out to me asking for a donation.

He said $1 will sponsor one homeless person with two slices of pizza.  I thought that was pretty awesome, so I made a donation to support his cause.

A year later, he reached out to me again. This time, he said, they were throwing pizza parties in 4 states! He asked me if I would like to throw a pizza party in Florida. I told him I was way too busy but I’d be happy to make a donation to help his cause.

Volunteers for A Slice of Hope, 2009

Another year later, he reached out to me again. This time, I agreed to throw a pizza party in Florida!

I gathered friends and coworkers and raised enough money to throw a pizza party at the Orlando Union Rescue Mission in Orlando.

Now, would you believe that one experience changed my life!

That night, after the party was over and I was home, I cried like a big baby. I had never met so many humble people, so many grateful souls, in one room.

There was 200 people.

I met single parents, women who were victims of domestic abuse, families who lost their homes and so many children.

I had people thanking me for hot pizza, saying they haven’t had pizza in years! I even had people thanking me for the DJ saying that they haven’t danced in so long!

Throwing that pizza party made me realize that my own personal problems were petty. Here I was complaining about lack of time, my job, my life as a single mother, the lack of sleep I was getting.  I think ever since that night, I counted my blessings more frequently.

Today, my volunteers and I throw pizza parties with live music in Central Florida every June.

We support a nationwide event called A Slice of Hope.

A Slice of Hope has grown to 25 states with pizza parties taking place for an entire week every June! PMQ Magazine has teamed up with A Slice of Hope to help encourage fundraising for this wonderful cause throughout the year (thank you PMQ)!

In Florida, we have thrown pizza parties at the Christian Service Center in Ocoee, Boys Town Central Florida in Oviedo, the Orlando Union Rescue Mission in Orlando and we’ve even provided pizza for Word On the Street Homeless Ministries in Orlando as well!

Look, I know you are all busy with your own family, your jobs, your life. But if we keep ignoring the less fortunate, if we keep ignoring this problem in our country… who’s going to help these folks?

The purpose of A Slice of Hope is to spread optimism and joy while feeding the hungry [read more here]. It is to give these folks hope, that people like you and I actually care.

This month, my volunteers and I are throwing pizza parties at 3 locations in Central Florida. But we need your help to make this possible!PayPal Donate

You can donate $1, $5, $10, whatever amount works for you and your budget.  Your donation is tax-deductible.

Please, I am asking you all to join me today in helping those that need our attention. We can’t keep waiting on the government to eradicate hunger. Homelessness is a problem today and we need to step up and be the change that we wish to see in our world.

We need to come together as a team and help these folks. Our earth has enough food for everyone. We just have to be willing to share.

Join me in taking just one small step to making a difference in someone’s life today.

Just $1 sponsors one person.

One dollar = one person.

I promise you, they will be extremely grateful.

About Sunita Sukhraj

I'm a software quality engineer, mother, model, mentor and philanthropist who has a thirst for arts, writing, Latin dancing, healthy organic vegetarian cooking (especially raw foods and desserts), spirituality, socializing and just enjoying life! I believe in the mind-body-soul connection; fill your mind with positive thoughts, feed your body healthy natural foods, and fulfill your soul's purpose with truth and love. These will help create balance in your life which in turn, will help foster humanity. Live life passionately, laugh often and love unconditionally but more importantly, live in unity with love!
This entry was posted in Articles, Inspirational, Philanthropy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

